Day 236: But Is It Helpful? (Psalm 120-123; 1 Corinthians 6)

“All things are lawful for me, but all things are not helpful. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.” -1 Corinthians 6:12

I memorized this verse a long time ago and it has been my beacon of strength in even the most of ordinary moments – like when I crave something unhealthy or have the desire to splurge on something I don’t truly need or maybe can’t afford.

God gave us free will and it’s a beautiful thing, but it’s also a big responsibility. Because the choice is left up to us.  Spending hours watching television? Fun, but is it helpful or edifying? Not so much. Consuming more junk food than real food? Tasty in the moment but it will destroy your body inside out. Participating in gossip? It might make you feel “in the know,” but it is hurtful and not how a set apart woman should live.

Apostle Paul sets the standard of “is it helpful?” to determine whether he should participate in something. Not whether it’s allowed for a believer, but whether it’s beneficial, profitable and good.

So, the next time you’re unsure of whether you should do something or participate in an activity the rest of your friends are doing, ask yourself: “is it beneficial to me? to God?” If the answer is no, then don’t do it. Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.

Leave a comment